10€ free on your first order with the code FIRST10

Pay in 2, 3, 4 times with Alma

Express delivery

New Balance 550



NEW BALANCE 550, THE REVIVAL OF A CLASSIC

NEW BALANCE 550 FOR WOMEN & MEN: ITS HISTORY

New Balance was created in 1906 by William J. Riley, a Boston shoemaker who set out to help people with foot problems by developing orthopaedic insoles that provided better support for the arch of the foot. The brand became internationally known in the 1960s when it decided to enter the running shoe market.

After success with racing models such as the New Balance 990the manufacturer decided to take on the basketball court with the 550 in 1989. This new b-ballssilhouette follows the classic trainer designs of the 1980s with a premium leather construction and rubber sole. It wasn't until 2020 that the vintage design became popular again with the community sneakers, as did the new New Balance 550 White Green.

TRENDY COLLABORATIONS FOR THIS SNEAKERS

In the midst of its 2020 revival, New Balance has decided to re-launch its retro model through a collaboration with the Aimé Léon Doredelabel Teddy Santis on the Oxford Basketballpack within the Uniform Program collection. The New York designer reworks the silhouette with a beige treatment on the sole and laces, giving it an aged look that will appeal to all basketball fans. sneakers. The collaboration was a resounding success in the sneakers sphere and was repeated on the brand's most emblematic models such as the New Balance 991 Made in UK design.  

In the same spirit, the collaboration with sports agent Rich Paul uses a similar colour code of cream and sky blue tones, giving it the look of a luxurious relic frozen in time, with a style that pays homage to its 1980s heritage

TOWARDS THE GENERALISATION OF THE MODEL?

Are we going tot know a similar fate to the Nike Dunk Low? This is one of the unanswered questions for now. Indeed, because of its adoption by the general public and its trendy side, the New Balance 550 could be declined in multiple colors. New Balance could also choose to keep some form of exclusivity, as it is currently the guy with very low quantities, explaining resale prices sometimes very high.
By responding to the growing demand on the New Balance 550, the Boston brand could impose itself as a brand that can compete with Nike on the sneakers and sneakers in general.
With the appearance of the two colorways Syracuse and UNC, the firm seems to want to take inspiration from the most trendy colors of the moment, both for men and women. With the arrival of new models like the New Balance 2002R and the New Balance 327the American manufacturer aims to conquer a younger audience but continues to offer special editions on its legendary models like the New Balance 992

Authentic products

Products authenticated by our experts.

Free shipping

starting at 200€*.

Payment in installments

Order in 2, 3 or 4 times.

Customer service

Available from Monday to Friday.

10€ offerts sur votre première commande avec le code FIRST10

Payez en 2, 3, 4 fois avec Alma

Livraison express

New Balance 550



NEW BALANCE 550, LE RENOUVEAU D'UN CLASSIQUE

NEW BALANCE 550 POUR FEMME & HOMME : SON HISTOIRE

New Balance est créée en 1906 par William J.Riley, un cordonnier de Boston qui se fixe pour objectif d'aider les personnes souffrant de problèmes de pieds en élaborant des semelles orthopédiques qui offraient un meilleur soutien au niveau de la voute plantaire. La marque se fait connaitre internationalement dans les années 1960s lorsqu'elle décide d'intégrer le marché des chaussures de running.

Après avoir fait succès avec des modèles de course tels que la New Balance 990, l'équipementier décide de s'attaquer aux terrains de basket-ball avec la 550en 1989. Cette nouvelle silhouette b-balls'inscrit dans les modèles de baskets classiques des années 80 avec un construction en cuir premium et une semelle en caoutchouc. Il faut attendre 2020 pour que le design vintage connaisse un tout nouveau succès au près de la communauté sneakers, à l'image de la nouvelle New Balance 550 White Green.

DES COLLABORATIONS TENDANCES POUR CETTE SNEAKERS

En plein renouveau lors de l'année 2020, New Balance décide de relancer son modèle rétro par le biais d'une collaboration avec le label Aimé Léon Dorede Teddy Santis sur le pack Basketball Oxfordau sein la collection Uniform Program. Le designer de New-York retravaille la silhouette en lui apportant une traitement beige sur la semelle et les lacets, lui donnant un look vieilli qui séduira l'ensemble des amateurs de sneakers. La collaboration connaîtra un succès retentissant dans la sphère sneakers et sera renouvelée sur les modèles les plus emblématiques de la marque tel que la New Balance 991 à conception Made in UK.  

Dans le même esprit, la collaboration avec l'agent sportif Rich Paul reprend un code couleur similaire aux tons crèmes et bleu ciel qui lui offre une allure de relique luxueuse figée dans le temps pour un style qui rend hommage à son héritagedes années 80. 

VERS LA GÉNÉRALISATION DU MODÈLE ?

Va-t-on connaître un destin similaire à la Nike Dunk Low ? Telle est l'une des questions pour l'instant sans réponse. En effet, de par son adoption du grand public et son côté tendance, la New Balance 550 pourrait tout-à-fait se voir déclinée dans de multiples coloris. New Balance pourrait également faire le choix de garder une certaine forme d'exclusivité, comme c'est actuellement le gars avec des quantités très faibles, expliquant des prix à la revente parfois très élevés.
En répondant à la demande croissante sur la New Balance 550, la marque de Boston pourrait s'imposer comme une marque pouvant rivaliser avec Nike sur les sneakers et les baskets ne général.
Avec l'apparition des deux coloris Syracuse et UNC, la firme semble vouloir tout de même s'inspirer des couleurs les plus tendances du moment, que ce soit à la fois pour homme et pour femme. Avec l'arrivée des nouveaux modèles comme la New Balance 2002R et la New Balance 327, l'équipementier américain vise à conquérir un public plus jeune mais continue d'offrir des éditions spéciales sur ses modèles légendaires à l'image de la New Balance 992

Des produits authentiques

Produits authentifiés par nos experts.

Livraison gratuite

À partir de 200€*.

Paiement en plusieurs fois

Commandez en 2, 3 ou 4 fois.

Service client français réactif

Disponible du lundi au vendredi.