10€ free on your first order with the code FIRST10

Pay in 2, 3, 4 times with Alma

Express delivery

New Balance 990



NEW BALANCE 990: THE ULTIMATE DAD SHOE

NEW BALANCE 990 THE HISTORY OF THIS PAIR OF SNEAKERS

It all began in 1982, when New Balance became the number one brand in the world of running shoes and acquired the identity we know today, thanks to the appearance of the emblematic"N" logo on the side of the shoe designed by Terry Heckler. It is in this context that the Boston-based manufacturer unveils the New Balance 990, the first shoe of the brand to be marketed at a price of $100(which represents $273 in 2022). It stands out for the exceptional quality of its materials and its neutral grey colour code, which stands out from the competition's trainers, which offer models with neon and fluorescent accents. This was followed by the creation of the 99X range with the appearance of legendary models such as the New Balance 991 and the New Balance 992 which was popularised by Steve Jobs, the founder of Apple, who loved the model and wore it during his iconic Keynotes.

NEW BALANCE 990: A RETRO TRAINER THAT IS MAKING A COMEBACK

Over the years the range is perfected in the technologies of support and cushioning as the foam ABZORB and the sole ENCAPappeared starting at the New Balance 990v2 of 1998. In 2016, the OEM unveiled its New Balance 990v4, which arrived in the midst of the dad-shoe trend. This movement initiated by Kanye West and his Yeezy Boost 700 Wave Runner revisits the shoes designed for sports generally worn by fathers on weekends like the Nike Air Monarch and 99X. New Balance then plays the trend and opted for an advertising campaign that encourages the versatility and accessibility of its model by presenting it as: "Worn by models in London and fathers in Ohio. A real hype was created around the retro running models of the 90's/2000's and even seduced luxury houses like Balenciaga and its emblematic Triple S. Today the movement is still relevant, like the very popular New Balance 2002R which has been revisited in multiple collaborations with Salehe Bembury or Yue Wu and his magnificent Protection Pack.

NEW VERSIONS: NEW BALANCE 990 V3, V4 AND V5

Always in constant technological innovation, the 99X range is now renewed through the prism of special editions in collaboration with several emblematic entities of the sneaker culture. Joe Freshgoodsdesigner and creative director of the label Don't Be Mad, offers us in 2021 his reinterpretation of the New Balance 990 V3 with the special edition Outside Clothes. The iconic brand Levi's and the concept store Bodega Boston were able to offer their respective interpretations of the 990 V3, which helped to increase the model's popularity. Released in 2016, the New Balance 990 V4 was able to benefit from a strong exposure thanks to the multiple versions imagined by the label KITH from Ronnie Fieg. In 2021, the Canadian creative studio JJJJound founded by Justin Saunders, who is relaunching the model with the Navy edition, and which precedes a forthcoming 990 V3 which should arrive during 2022. Finally the New Balance 990 V5presented in 2019 was popularised by its collaboration with Likes Léon Dorea high-end streetwear brand founded by Teddy Santis which is now creative director of New Balance and which is at the origin of the great return of the New Balance 550 originally released in 1989. The latter also unveiled the next step in the 99X range, the New Balance 990 V6 under the Boston-based manufacturer's iconic grey colour-blocking, which is due to be released during the 2022. The collection still has a long way to go!

Authentic products

Products authenticated by our experts.

Free shipping

starting at 200€*.

Payment in installments

Order in 2, 3 or 4 times.

Customer service

Available from Monday to Friday.

New Balance 990

990 v5 Grey

New Balance

From€270.00

990 V3 JJJJound Olive

New Balance

From€590.00

990 v3 Joe Freshgoods Outside Clothes

New Balance

€330.00 €380.00

990 v3 Bodega Here To Stay

New Balance

From€350.00

990 v3 Levi's Elephant Skin

New Balance

From€320.00

990 v4 JJJJound Made In USA Navy

New Balance

From€430.00

990 v4 Grey

New Balance

€380.00

990 v3 Red Suede

New Balance

€270.00

990 v5 Black

New Balance

From€260.00

990 v3 Levi's Blue

New Balance

From€320.00

990 v5 Made In USA Navy

New Balance

From€280.00

990 v3 Navy

New Balance

From€290.00

990 V3 Black Green Yellow

New Balance

From€320.00

990 V3 Black White

New Balance

From€300.00

990 v3 Grey

New Balance

From€310.00

990 v3 JJJJound Brown

New Balance

€200.00



NEW BALANCE 990 : LA DAD-SHOE PAR EXCELLENCE

NEW BALANCE 990 L'HISTOIRE DE CETTE PAIRE DE SNEAKERS

Tout commence en 1982, période où New Balance s'affirme comme la marque numéro 1 dans le monde des baskets de running et acquiert son identité que l'on connait aujourd’hui notamment grâce à l’apparition sur ces chaussures de l’emblématique logo "N" latéral designé par Terry Heckler. C'est dans ce contexte que l’équipementier de Boston dévoile la New Balance 990, première chaussure de la marque à être commercialisée au prix de 100$(ce qui représente 273$ en 2022). Elle se démarque par la qualité exceptionnelle de ses matériaux et son code couleur gris neutre qui dénote des baskets de la concurrence qui proposaient des modèles aux touches fluo et néon. S'en suit alors la création de la gamme 99X avec l'apparition des modèles légendaires comme la New Balance 991 et la New Balance 992 de 2006 qui se voit popularisée par Steve Jobs, fondateur d'Apple qui raffolait du modèle et qui le portait lors de ses emblématiques Keynotes.

NEW BALANCE 990 : UNE BASKET RETRO QUI REVIENT EN FORCE

Au fil des années la gamme se perfectionne dans les technologies de maintien et d'amorti comme la mousse ABZORB et la semelle ENCAPapparues à partir de la New Balance 990v2 de 1998. En 2016, l’équipementier dévoile sa New Balance 990v4 qui arrive en pleine tendance de la dad-shoe. Ce mouvement instauré par Kanye West et sa Yeezy Boost 700 Wave Runner revisite les chaussures conçues pour le sport généralement portées par les pères de famille les week-ends à l'instar de la Nike Air Monarch et des 99X. New Balance se joue alors de la tendance et opte pour une campagne publicitaire qui encourage la versatilité et l’accessibilité de son modèle en le présentant comme : "Portée par les mannequins à Londres et les pères de famille dans l'Ohio". Une véritable hype se crée autour des modèles rétro running des années 90/2000 et ira même jusqu’à séduire les maisons de luxe comme Balenciaga et son emblématique Triple S. Aujourd’hui la mouvance est toujours d’actualité, à l'image de la très populaire New Balance 2002R qui s'est vu revisitée à l'occasion de multiples collaborations avec Salehe Bembury ou encore Yue Wu et son magnifique Protection Pack.

DES NOUVELLES VERSIONS : NEW BALANCE 990 V3, V4 ET V5

Toujours en perpétuelle innovation technologique, la gamme 99X se renouvelle aujourd’hui via le prisme des éditions spéciales en collaboration avec plusieurs entités emblématiques de la sneaker culture. Joe Freshgoods, designer et directeur créatif du label Don't Be Mad, nous offre en 2021 sa réinterprétation de la New Balance 990 V3 avec l'édition spéciale Outside Clothes. La marque emblématique Levi's et le concept store Bodega de Boston ont pu offrir a leur tour leurs interprétations respectives de la 990 V3, ce qui a permis d’accroître la popularité du modèle. Sortie en 2016, la New Balance 990 V4 a pu bénéficier d'une forte exposition grâce aux multiples versions imaginées par le label KITH de Ronnie Fieg. En 2021, c'est le studio créatif canadien JJJJound fondé par Justin Saunders qui relance le modèle avec l'édition Navy et qui précède une prochaine 990 V3 qui devrait arriver courant 2022. Enfin la New Balance 990 V5présentée en 2019 fut popularisée par sa collaboration avec Aime Léon Dore, marque de streetwear haut de gamme fondée par Teddy Santis qui est maintenant directeur créatif de New Balance et qui est à l'origine du grand retour de la New Balance 550 sortie à l'origine en 1989. Ce dernier nous d'ailleurs dévoilé la prochaine étape de la gamme 99X, la New Balance 990 V6 sous le color-blocking gris emblématique de l’équipementier de Boston qui devrait sortir courant 2022. La collection a encore de beaux jours devant elle !

100% neufs et authentiques

Tous les produits vendus sur Wethenew sont authentifiés par nos experts avant de vous être envoyés.

Livraison et retours gratuits

À destination de la France Métropolitaine. Vous n'habitez pas en France ? Nous livrons partout dans le monde !

Paiement en 4 fois disponible

Directement au moment du règlement. Toutes les transactions sont sécurisées grâce à un protocole SSL crypté 3D Secure.

Service client français réactif

Notre service client vous accompagne par téléphone, mail ou via chat (en bas à droite du site) du lundi au vendredi !